The 2021 Chiles Advocacy Award winner will be honored on April 5, 2021
History of the Chiles Advocacy Award

The Chiles Advocacy Award is named in honor of the former three-term U.S. Senator and two-term Florida Governor Lawton Chiles, and his influential First Lady, Rhea.

The wisdom and experience Lawton and Rhea Chiles gleaned during his decades of public service taught them that society’s most precious natural resource – its’ children and their families – deserve the special attention of our communities and representatives in governmental office. Their record of leadership on crafting state and national policy, including health care access, early education, child abuse prevention, delinquency services, and family support programs is legendary, and will benefit children and their families for generations to come.

This award is presented annually to a Floridian who has dedicated their life to improving the lives of children and families, and who has successfully engaged others to promote statewide policies and programs that benefit those children and families. This year’s recipient will be invited to participate in the Children’s Week Florida Virtual Teen Town Hall on Tuesday, April 6, 2021, helping inspire young minds and motivate the next generation of advocates.

If you know someone who is deserving of this honor, please click below to download and submit a nomination by February 18, 2021.

Chiles Advocacy Award Nomination Form

2020 Chiles Advocacy Award Winner:
Jack Levine

Jack Levine, founder of the 4Generations Institute and previous President of Voices for Florida’s Children, was named the 2020 Chiles Advocacy Award winner in January 2020 at the Children’s Week Advocacy Awards Dinner and Reception.

“Jack Levine communicates in no uncertain terms about the vital link between the quality of life of our children and our social and economic well-being,” wrote David Lawrence, founder of the Children’s Movement of Florida, who nominated Jack for this honor.

Upon learning of this prestigious award, Jack responded: “This special recognition is one which so many thousands of colleagues and allies will deservedly share. I loved Lawton and Rhea Chiles for who they were and what influence they exerted on so many advocates.”

“Florida, in all of our diversities, provides the perfect laboratory for uniting our voices and achieving our goals for success,” Jack explained. “That is a legacy worthy of our ardent advocacy.”

Chiles Advocacy Award Past Winners

The recipients of the Chiles Advocacy Award exemplify integrity, dedication, and a commitment to improving the lives of Florida’s children and families. We thank you and we honor you for shining a bright light on the importance of advocacy for every generation of children.

Jack Levine
Jim Mills
Barbara Mainster
Maryann Barry
Dr. Wil Blechman
Karen Woodall
Carol Barnett
Ann Levy
Modesto E. Abety
Ed Feaver
William E. Gladstone
Budd Bell
Drs. Louis B. & Julia Revell St. Petery
BeBe Furnside
Dr. Gerald L. & Mrs. Audrey Lincourt Schiebler
David Lawrence
Dr. Charles Mahan
Linda Merrell
George Sheldon
Susan Muenchow
Dick Batchelor
Rhea Chiles